Introducing Love & Crochet

A vibrant, unique online space for crafters all over the world

Sarah Milligan

01/22/2022

Hi there! If you didn't know already, my name is Sarah, and this is a website where I log everything about me, my experiences, and my insights. Most everything will take place on the blog--in other words, right here! To learn more about me and the website, click here.

This post will cover my online business, Love & Crochet, which I have spent tons of time and hard work building. You'll find out who we are, our history, what we do, and how you can get involved.

Believe it or not, this is the first post on my blog, so I hope it turns out well! Enjoy!

Crocheted stuffed cookies

Love & Crochet's most recent pattern, the Crochet Cookie Trio

What is Love & Crochet?

Love & Crochet is a website that publishes crochet and knitting patterns, tutorials, tips, and more. Free patterns are available on the blog and PDF versions are in our store! We strive to create the highest quality content at low (or no) prices, for all yarn crafters out there.

Love & Crochet began as a dream to make some passive income. I had read a few articles about generating this type of income during the depths of the Covid Pandemic, when suddenly an idea hit me--I could combine my passion for crocheting with a way to earn money on the side. Others were doing it, so why couldn't I? With the idea fresh in my mind, I got to work.

And boy have I gotten far from that first day.

Although the outcome was quite different than what I envisioned, I am so grateful to have indulged on such a unique and fruitful journey. It is hard to describe this type of business as "passive" with the amount of work that goes into it each day. While I'm sure that in the future a significant portion of my work will pay dividends, at the moment I am at the helm (but still happy) each day.

Assuming most of you all are more interested in the Love & Crochet website versus the journey I took to bring it to life, I'll describe how it's changed since the beginning, then get right into what we do for you!

As I said before, Love & Crochet began with an interest in passive income. So, in our first few months, we only offered the unique digital patterns that we continue to showcase on our website. These were only available as PDFs (a logical starting point) until we began a blog, which now has numerous free patterns and tutorials that anyone can check out! We are now also on multiple social platforms, which I will go into more detail below.


Everything Love & Crochet

The Website

We are now more than a website, but let's begin just there, at the origin.

The star of the show at loveandcrochet.com would have to be the blog. At the moment, we receive up to 1,000 visitors a day during a pattern release and a hundred to a few hundred on a daily basis. Most of these people head to the blog, where it is SO easy to check out a pattern and get started! Everything there is free, and the comment section on each post allows you to ask any questions and receive an answer within a day. The patterns vary from little stuffed animals to stunning hats, but the best way to get a feel for them all is to check it out yourself!

Another big part of our website is the pattern store. For those of you who just can't stand the ads and distractions, you can buy the premium pattern versions for a low cost (typically $4). These patterns are structured in a clean, distraction-free layout. Questions from the premium buyers are prioritized too! Plus, it's an easy way to support our little business in a large way :)

You can also contact us and read more about us on the website, although those pages likely need to be updated (yikes, sorry). Oh, and you'd be missing out if you didn't check out our newsletter--biweekly, inspirational, yarn-related content sent to your inbox for free. The sign up is all over our website

The App

Yes, we do have a wonderful corner on the Spaces by Wix App! You can click here to download and join it for free. Whenever we can, we like to hand out some perks for all of our lovely members, but when we don't, it's always there as a more extensive place where Love & Crochet lives! You can find everything that's on the website and more.

YouTube

Although the Love & Crochet YouTube Channel is quite new and small, we make sure to include only the highest quality video tutorials and pattern instructions. At the moment, we have a few crochet stitch and pattern tutorials available for everyone. We hope you check them out and subscribe! Below is one of our most popular videos.

Social Media

You can find us on a few of the common social media platforms, plus some others that a yarn artist would likely know of. Listed below are them all!


How to support and get involved

I think I touched on this in almost every paragraph in the section above, even if it wasn't explicitly pointed out! It's as simple as following us on social media, checking out any of our patterns, signing up for the newsletter, or sharing us with a friend that knits or crochets. We appreciate everything that you all do for us--after all, we wouldn't be here without the vibrant yarn-artist community that's present online.

That's it for now! We hope you enjoyed the blog post and found it helpful in some way. Let us know what you think, and remember to subscribe to our newsletter (from sarah-milligan.com, although still check out the Love & Crochet one of course). See you soon!